HCTV, Hastings Chamber will offer candidate forum Oct. 20


The Hastings Community TV and the Hastings Area Chamber of Commerce and Tourism Bureau will help the community get a closeup glimpse of the local candidates for the Nov. 8 election.

The organization is hosting a candidate forum Thursday, Oct. 20 from 6:308: 30 p.m. The event will be held at Hastings City Hall. The event is open to the public and will feature candidates for the Hastings City Council At Large seats, as well as Minnesota House District 41B and Minnesota Senate District 41.

The community is encouraged to submit questions or topics for consideration. Candidates in each race will have the opportunity to speak on why they are running for office and will be asked four questions. Suggestions on questions or topics to be covered can be sent to Hastings Chamber President Kristy Barse at [email protected] org. Put “Hastings Candidate Forum” and the race the question is for in the subject line. Deadline for submitting questions is Tuesday, Oct. 11.

A forum for the Hastings Independent School District 200 special election, also set for Nov. 8, will be taped instudio at HCTV and broadcast Oct. 27 and posted on the chamber website and Facebook page.

Here are the candidates for the seats on the local ballot: Hastings City Council At Large – Two Seats Open: Winning the August primary election to advance were Angie Haus, Ian T. Martin, Dave Pemble and Tom Wright.

Minnesota House District 41B – Republican Shane Hudella and Democratic-FarmLabor candidate Tina Folch are competing for the seat. Both are Hastings residents.

Minnesota Senate District 41 – Republican Tom Dippel of Cottage Grove and DemocraticFarmLabor candidate Judy Seeberger of Afton are challenging for the seat.

The Hastings School Board race is to fill the unexpired term vacated with a board resignation in July. The winner will start to serve as soon as the election is certified and accepted by the school board and the term will run through 2024. Challenging for the seat are Todd A. Kullmann, Pamela J. Onnen and Mark A. Zuzek.

October 5, 2022