Seven challenge in primary for two Hastings Council at-large seats

Ballot set for fall elections

By John McLoone

After a flurry of filing activity, the fall ballot is taking shape.

There will be a primary election for several seats on Aug. 9, most notably the Hastings City Council. There are two atlarge city council seats open, as incumbents Lori Braucks and Mark Vaughan decided against seeking reelection.

On the ballot for the primary election, that will pare the list from seven to four are:

Joe Balsanek, 340 Crestview Dr.

Angie Haus, 1421 Tyler St. Dean Markuson, 436 Tiffany Dr.

Ian T. Martin, 1770 Greystone Rd.

Dennis Gerald Peine, 120 Ninth St. W

Dave Pemble, 731 W. Fifth St.

Tom Wright, 770 Seventh St. W There is also a race for

See ELECTION, Page 5 mayor on the fall ballot. Incumbent Mayor Mary Fasbender is seeking reelection and is uncontested. That race will appear on the ballot along with those successful in the council atlarge race on Nov. 8.

Municipal and county races are nonpartisan. State offices are partisan. Here’s the description of each on the Minnesota Secretary of State website: Partisan offices Partisan offices will list a political party next to a candidate’s name on the ballot. All state and federal offices— such as U.S. representative or Minnesota senator—are partisan offices.

Partisan candidates will be listed in multiple columns on the primary ballot. Each column will list the candidates for one major party.

You can only vote for candidates from one political party. If you vote for candidates from more than one political party, your votes will not count. You decide when you vote which one of the parties you will vote for—Minnesota does not have political party registration. Nonpartisan offices Nonpartisan offices will not list a political party next to a candidate’s name on the ballot. For example, county, city, township and school board offices are nonpartisan.

Nonpartisan offices will be listed on the back side of the primary ballot. You can vote for any candidate. The candidates who get the most votes will be on the November general election ballot.

Other candidates that serve the area on the ballot are: State Senate District 41 With Sen. Karla Bigham not seeking reelection in the new District 41 (she’s running for a seat on the Washington County Board instead), two Republicans will compete at the primary election: Current State Rep. Tony Jurgens is seeking election as a Republican, as is Tom Dippel. Both are Cottage Grove residents.

Running for the seat in the DFL party is Judy Seeberger of Afton.

District 58

In District 58, there will be a primary on the Republican side, as Jake Cordes of Farmington and Bill Lieske of Lonsdale are challenging are vying for the seat on the November ballot.

Running in the DFL party is Clarice Grabau, Northfield.

State Representative District 41B District 41B encompasses the southern half of District 41, which includes the City of Hastings and Ninninger Township, most of Denmark Township and most of the City of Cottage Grove.

Two Hastings residents are competing for the job on the November ballot. They are Republican Shane Hudella, 15213 Ravenna Trail, and Democrat Tina Folch, 1523 Tyler St.

District 58B

This district includes Ravenna Township, Marshan Township, Vermillion, Hampton, New Trier, Miesville and Douglas Township.

Running as a Republican for the seat is Patrick Garofalo, Farmington. On the DFL side is Steve Dungy, Cannon Falls.

Dakota County Board

Mike Slavik, 1050 Southview Dr., Hastings, is seeking reelection in District 1, described geographically on the Dakota County website as: Cities of Coates, Farmington, Hampton, Hastings, Miesville, New Trier, Randolph, Vermillion, Northfield Precinct 2; Townships of Castle Rock, Douglas, Empire, Eureka, Greenvale, Hampton, Marshan, Nininger, Randolph, Ravenna, Sciota, Vermillion and Waterford.

Dakota County Sheriff

Joe Leko of Inver Grove Heights is running unopposed.

Current Dakota County Sheriff Tim Leslie is not seeking reelection.

Dakota County Attorney

There will be a primary election for Dakota County Attorney. Running for the position are Kathy Keena, Elizabeth Lamin, Matt Little and Jeffrey (Jeff) Sheridan. Keena is the Acting Dakota County Attorney, receiving the appointment on the retirement of James Backstrom last year.

June 8, 2022